top of page
_MG_0311.jpg

Events in 2016

In February 2016, the book Les Fastes de la Trompe, edited by Jean-Pierre Chaline and Jean-Michel Leniaud and published by Tallandier, was presented to the press. It is a superb, richly documented work that contains fascinating information on the instrument and its crafting, as well as its presence and repertoire. It is a must-have for enthusiasts, a well of information which is enhanced by magnificent illustrations. A joyful gift.
Les Fastes de la Trompe, Tallandier/FRTM, with the support of the François Sommer Foundation, Paris, 2015, 192 pages. www.tallandier.com

........................................................

April 2016: The FRTM supported the École de Trompe du Der for the organization of a wonderful concert sounded on Saturday 9 April at the Abbatiale de Montier en Der by the Rallye Trompes des Vosges, conducted by Christian Conte, and by the Débuché de Paris, conducted by Sylvain Oudot.
The two legendary groups performed contemporary compositions by Sylvain Oudot, Hubert Heinrich, and Christian Conte, along with other, more traditional pieces. The two ensembles’ musicality was impressive, as they combined aesthetic emotion with perfect technical mastery of the instrument. Individual talents struck an ideal balance to do justice to the composers’ genius. Anyone who can, should not hesitate to grasp an opportunity to listen to the Rallye and the Débuché soundly established at the peak of their art. What a joy to share the cordial and musical complicity that unites these two groups, once portrayed as rivals and now led by two conductors who respect and value each other.

........................................................

On Monday 6 June 2016 at 13:00, the FRTM extended an invitation to attend Nicolas Dromer’s end-of-cycle test at the CNSMDP (Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris). Dromer is a professional trumpeter and international horn champion, whose thesis is a handbook for learning and perfecting the art of sounding. The FRTM supports the Conservatoire management’s initiatives for this fully informed and user-friendly method to be published and made available to all.

........................................................

On 15 June 2016, the FRTM visited Sylvain Oudot in Bar-Le-Duc, on the city’s ducal lands. A great moment of sharing around a common passion for writing pieces for large horn, horn and choir, and horn and organ ensembles. Sylvain Oudot, a piano teacher and a prodigiously refined sounder in the use of radoux, is one of the two or three most prolific composers of our time.

........................................................

In July 2016, the Rallye Trompes des Vosges took up residence at the Grange de Beaumont, which was once again generously provided to Christian Conte and his sounders by Madame de Laporte, President of the FRTM and of the Fondation Lefort-Beaumont.

........................................................

In September 2016, the Hommage à Saint Louis was recorded at the Quinze-Vingt church in Paris. The FRTM commissioned Olivier d'Ormesson to compose this music for a prayer written by the Académie française’s Jean d'Ormesson. A trio of hunting horns and a duet of French horns, brought together by Nicolas Dromer, played the horn parts in this beautiful score, which is, at last, accessible to the general public. This piece was commissioned on the occasion of the 790th anniversary of the coronation of Saint Louis for the solemn mass of the 400th anniversary of the death of Louis XIV celebrated at the cathedral of Saint Louis des Invalides. It was performed by Christian Conte and Nicolas Dromer on the horn, and Olivier d'Ormesson and Éric Ampeau on the organ.

........................................................

On Sunday 18 September at 10:45, the FRTM took part in providing the music of the grand solemn mass for the foundation of the Institution nationale des Invalides. At the request of Governor of the Invalides General Bertrand Ract Madoux, the FRTM invited the Rallye Atlantique, a splendid horn formation conducted by thrice international horn champion and CNSMDP (Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris) first prize winner Nicolas Dromer. The Rallye Atlantique is unique in its search for the greatest musicality in the hunting tone, of which it firmly upholds all the characteristics as a particularity of the instrument and a unifying element for all players and enthusiasts.

........................................................

On the evening of Saturday 12 November, the FRTM and the Presidency of the Château de Versailles organized a horn concert at the Manège Royal in Versailles. This concert – organized to accompany the exhibition “Fêtes et divertissements à la Cour” – included performances by the Débuché de Paris, conducted by Sylvain Oudot, and the Rallye Trompes des Vosges, conducted by Christian Conte. These two leading ensembles composed a tailored programme bringing together the horn and the organ, in which original pieces by Christian Conte and Sylvain Oudot were interspersed with pieces from the baroque or classical repertoire for the French horn, and traditional pieces from the large horn ensemble repertoire.

 > Detailed programme 

........................................................

On 13 November 2016, Saint Hubert's Day mass at Saint-Eustache, with the Débuché de Paris and the Rallye Trompes des Vosges.

........................................................

Sunday 27 November 2016 at 15:00, solemn Saint Hubert’s mass at the Notre Dame de Paris Cathedral with the Cathedral’s professional choirs, the Débuché de Paris and the Rallye Trompes des Vosges. This mass was organized outside the usual Sunday service times and specially celebrated to allow as many horn sounders and enthusiasts as possible to fully experience the Cathedral’s immensity. It was broadcast live on KTO and is available on CD. While the main pieces were composed by Christian Conte, Henri Chalet, Sylvain Oudot, Hubert Heinrich, and Lionel Sow, pieces by Gaston Chalmel, Jules Cantin, Michel Chapuis, and Robert Laigre were also sounded under the high vaults of the Paris cathedral.

 > Detailed programme 

........................................................

Photo © Olivier Bizard

bottom of page

​Évènements 2016

Février 2016, présentation à la presse du livre Les Fastes de la Trompe, publié chez Tallandier, sous la direction de Jean-Pierre Chaline et Jean-Michel Leniaud. Un superbe ouvrage, richement documenté, qui contient de passionnantes informations sur l’instrument et sa facture comme sur la présence et le répertoire de la trompe. Indispensable dans la bibliothèque de tout amateur et une mine de renseignements agrémentée de magnifiques illustrations. Un cadeau joyeux.

Les Fastes de la Trompe, Tallandier/FRTM, avec le concours de la Fondation François Sommer, Paris, 2015, 192 pages. www.tallandier.com

_______________________________________________________________________

Avril 2016 : La FRTM soutenait l’École de Trompe du Der pour l’organisation d’un formidable concert sonné le samedi 9 avril à l'Abbatiale de Montier en Der par le Rallye Trompes des Vosges, sous la direction de Christian Conte, et par le Débuché de Paris, sous la direction de Sylvain Oudot.

Les deux groupes de légende interprètaient des compositions contemporaines de Sylvain Oudot, Hubert Heinrich ou Christian Conte et des morceaux plus traditionnels. Impressionnante musicalité des deux ensembles, où l’émotion esthétique rejoint la parfaite maîtrise technique de l’ instrument. Les talents individuels savent s’équilibrer pour servir idéalement le génie des compositeurs. À ceux qui le peuvent, il faut courir entendre le RTV et le Débuché durablement installés au sommet de leur art. Et quel bonheur de partager la complicité amicale et musicale qui unit les deux groupes jadis présentés comme rivaux et maintenant portés par deux directeurs qui s’estiment, se respectent et s’apprécient.

_______________________________________________________________________

Lundi 6 juin 2016 à 13h, la FRTM invitait à assister au CNSMDP (Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris), à l’épreuve de fin de cycle d’études de Nicolas Dromer, trompettiste professionnel et champion international de trompe, dont la thèse de fin d’études consiste en l’écriture d’une méthode pour l’apprentissage et le perfectionnement dans l’art de sonner. La FRTM appuie les initiatives  des responsables du Conservatoire pour que cette méthode parfaitement étudiée et clairement accessible puisse être éditée et mise à la disposition de tous.

_______________________________________________________________________

Le 15 juin 2016, la FRTM rendait visite, sur ses terres ducales, à Bar-Le-Duc, à Sylvain Oudot. Un grand moment d’échanges en vue autour d’une passion commune pour l’écriture de pièces pour grand ensemble de trompes, trompes et choeur, trompe et orgue. Sylvain Oudot, professeur de piano, sonneur d’une délicatesse prodigieuse dans les radoux, est des deux ou trois plus féconds compositeurs du moment.

_______________________________________________________________________

En juillet 2016, résidence du RTV à la Grange de Beaumont, toujours aussi généreusement mise à disposition de Christian Conte et de ses sonneurs par Madame de Laporte, présidente de la FRTM et présidente de la Fondation Lefort-Beaumont.

_______________________________________________________________________

En septembre 2016, enregistrement à l’église des Quinze-Vingt, à Paris, de l’Hommage à Saint Louis, composition commandée par la FRTM à Olivier d’Ormesson sur une prière écrite par Jean d’Ormesson, de l’Académie française. Un trio de trompes et un duo de cors réunis par Nicolas Dromer se chargent des parties trompes et cors de cette belle partition, dès lors enfin accessible au grand public. Cette pièce, commandée à l’occasion du 790ème anniversaire du sacre de Saint Louis pour la messe solennelle du 400ème anniversaire de la mort de Louis XIV célébrée à la cathédrale Saint Louis des Invalides, est créée par Christian Conte et Nicolas Dromer à la trompe, Olivier d’Ormesson et Éric Ampeau à l’orgue. 

_______________________________________________________________________

Le dimanche 18 septembre à 10h45, la FRTM participe à l’animation musicale de la grande messe solennelle de fondation de l’Institution nationale des Invalides. En effet, à la demande du Général d’Armée Bertrand Ract Madoux, Gouverneur des Invalides, la FRTM organise la venue du Rallye Atlantique, splendide formation de trompe placée sous la direction musicale de Nicolas Dromer, triple champion international de trompe, premier prix de trompette du Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris  (CNSMDP). Le Rallye Atlantique se caractérise par la recherche de la plus grande musicalité du ton de chasse dont il maintient fermement toutes les caractéristiques en tant que spécificité de l’instrument et comme élément fédérateur de tous les praticiens et amateurs.

_______________________________________________________________________

Le samedi 12 novembre en soirée, la FRTM et la Présidence du château de Versailles ont programmé, au Manège Royal de Versailles, un concert de trompe. Lors de ce concert organisé en accompagnement de l’exposition « Fêtes et divertissements à la Cour », se produisait le Débuché de Paris, sous la direction de Sylvain Oudot, et le Rallye Trompes des Vosges sous la direction de Christian Conte. Ces deux formations reines composaient un programme adapté où la trompe se marie à l’orgue et où des pièces originales de Christian Conte et de Sylvain Oudot alternent avec des pièces du répertoire baroque ou classique pour trompe savante et des morceaux traditionnels du répertoire pour grand ensemble de trompes. 

> Programme détaillé

_______________________________________________________________________

Le 13 novembre 2016, messe de la Saint Hubert à Saint-Eustache, par le Débuché de Paris et le Rallye Trompes des Vosges.

_______________________________________________________________________

Dimanche 27 novembre 2016 à 15h, messe solennelle de Saint Hubert à la Cathédrale Notre Dame de Paris avec les chœurs professionnels de la Cathédrale, le Débuché de Paris et le Rallye Trompes des Vosges. Organisée hors des horaires des offices dominicaux habituels, cette messe est spécialement célébrée pour permettre au plus grand nombre de sonneurs et d’amateurs de trompe d’occuper toute l’immensité de la Cathédrale. Retransmise en direct sur KTO elle est disponible en CD. Christian Conte, Henri Chalet, Sylvain Oudot, Hubert Heinrich, Lionel Sow sont les compositeurs des morceaux principaux. Mais résonnent aussi sous les hautes voutes de la Cathédrale de Paris des pièces de Gaston Chalmel, Jules Cantin, Michel Chapuis et Robert Laigre.

> Programme détaillé

..........................................................................................................................

Photos © Olivier Bizard